Enter Title

April 16-19
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
1550 Court Place
Denver, CO 80202

Michael Linver

2020 Gold Medal Recipient

Michael N. Linver, MD, FACR, FSBI was named the 2020 Gold Medal recipient at the SBI Fellows Meeting in Chicago, which took place during the recent Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) Annual Meeting. The Gold Medal Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of breast imaging and for distinguished service to SBI and other medical societies and organizations.

Dr. Linver is Director Emeritus of the Breast Imaging Center of X-Ray Associates of New Mexico, P.C., and Clinical Professor of Radiology at the University of New Mexico. He is a graduate of the University of Michigan, and the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. He completed his post-graduate medical training at the University of California at San Francisco, Vanderbilt University, and the University of New Mexico. He has been a specialist in Breast Imaging for the past 33 years.

In addition to running a busy private practice, Dr. Linver’s passion for teaching has led him to present over 1,400 lectures in 37 states in the U.S. and in 25 other countries around the world. He has authored over 60 published articles and chapters of textbooks on mammography, focusing on the audit, the screening guidelines, and the importance of good communication skills in speaking with patients. In 2010, he was chosen as one of the 10 most effective Radiology Educators in the United States by subscribers and members of AuntMinnie.com. He is a strong political proponent of quality mammography, spearheading the successful campaign to enact mandated quality mammography screening legislation in New Mexico in 1990, and serving on the original National Mammography Quality Assurance Advisory Committee to the FDA from 1994 to 1997, helping to formulate the Final Rules of the Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA).

He is past president of the New Mexico chapters of both the American College of Radiology (ACR) and the American Cancer Society. He was a long-standing member of the ACR BI-RADS Committee, and served as Chair of the Subcommittee on BI-RADS Ultrasound, and Chair of Breast Ultrasound Accreditation, both for the ACR. He is a Fellow of the ACR, and a Fellow of the SBI, the first ever to receive this honor in the entire Mountain West. He has been the unofficial photographer for the SBI for the past 25 years!

Therese B. Bevers

2020 Honorary Fellow

Therese B. Bevers, MD, FAAFP, will be inducted as the newest SBI Honorary Fellow at the 2020 SBI/ACR Annual Breast Imaging Symposium. Honorary Fellow status is designated to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to breast imaging and who are otherwise eligible for membership in the society. They are elected by a majority of the Active Fellows and remain dues exempt members for life.

Dr. Bevers is professor of Clinical Cancer Prevention and the medical director of the Cancer Prevention Center and prevention outreach programs at MD Anderson Cancer Center.

In her role as medical director, Dr. Bevers has overseen the growth and program development of the Cancer Prevention Center—the first comprehensive clinical cancer prevention service program in the country—since its opening in 1996.

Her clinical and research interests are in the area of breast cancer prevention, screening and diagnosis. She was the MD Anderson co-principal investigator (PI) on the groundbreaking Breast Cancer Prevention Trial which demonstrated that tamoxifen reduced the risk of developing breast cancer by one half and PI of the STAR trial which showed that raloxifene had similar benefits but fewer risks. She was the PI at MD Anderson for a study investigating whether polyphenon E, an active substance of green tea, benefits women at increased risk for breast cancer. She is also investigating the potential role of Vitamin D in breast cancer prevention. Dr. Bevers chairs the National Comprehensive Cancer Network’s guideline panels on Breast Cancer Screening and Diagnosis and Breast Cancer Risk Reduction.

She is the recipient of many awards including the Julie and Ben Rogers Award for Excellence in Prevention in 2006, the Kathryn S. Stream Award for Excellence in Women’s Health in 2011 and the Faculty Achievement Award in Prevention in 2011.